overthink

God spoke to me this morning through The Economist.  In an article about overthinking the author states,

“A fundamental paradox of human psychology is that thinking can be bad for us. When we follow our own thoughts too closely, we can lose our bearings, as our inner chatter drowns out common sense.”

I am an overthinker.  I have a bad day and my mind goes through all of the possible alternatives of ways to live my life so that I will never, ever, have a bad day again.

It’s not just me though.  We read blogs, we read self help books, we pray, we analyze, we consume media 24/7. We never stop thinking.

But today is Sunday.  So I’m going to mass to sit in God’s presence.  To lap up the love, wade in the peace, and fill my heart with hope.  And I promise you, I’m not going to think about it too much.

Then later, I’m going to love my mother, and I’m not going to think about it too much.

After that, I will enjoy the sunshine in my hometown.

I have zero answers to yesterday’s dilemma, but I’m giving all that up for now in favor of savoring a sunny day in the Pacific Northwest.  It doesn’t get much better than today.

Whatever it is that ails you, will you join me in forgetting about it today?

Thoughts?

