daily

I can be a real worrier.  The minute I work out the present, my mind quickly moves onto the future. The worst part is, I usually only worry about myself.

Yuck, how selfish.

So I went to reconciliation for the first time in a very, very long time.  I explained to the priest my worries and my guilt over such meaningless self-absorption.  He listened attentively then asked me how old I am.

“Twenty-three.”

I think I expected him to quietly ponder my sins then give a measured, careful penance.  Instead, we sat there in the pew for 20 minutes while, with more enthusiasm than ever expected, Fr. Dwight extolled upon the joys of early adulthood.  He begged me to enjoy my life, to trust in God that every experience I encounter now is preparing me in some way for my future. “Go to the movies! Go to the theater! Go shopping! Enjoy yourself!  God’s creation is meant to be enjoyed!”

Wait a minute.  My priest sounds like he’s giving a speech at graduation!

When I asked him how to pray in order to be more present he said, “Stop worrying! You want to know how to pray, Jesus taught us how to pray!  Notice how we only ask for our daily bread?  God doesn’t want to pray for tomorrow’s bread.”

Well.  God gave me today, and today is enough.  Give us this day our daily bread.

3 responses to “daily

  1. This is slightly random, but I felt this joyous need to share this with you. I’ve never read your blog before but I happened to find it as I was looking at all of the people who contributed to VirtuousPla.net on their website (Hi! Nice to meet you! haha). Long story short, reading your latest post almost had me in tears, which I’m sure wasn’t the reaction you were aiming to draw out of your readers. 😉 I, too, am a twenty-three year old Catholic girl who’s a worrier…in fact, I worry quite a bit about my future that I find myself living in a weird state of fear and never really give anything a chance to play out, if that makes any sense at all. Anyway, I found it really refreshing knowing that 1.) I’m not alone in feeling this way. It’s comforting knowing that I’m not the only one who thinks similar thoughts for some reason. 2.) I’ve never really looked at life in such a way as put by the priest you visited. It seems as though he gave such a straight-forward, simplistic answer, and yet his words were moving and awakening. Guess that’s what happens when you stop and listen to what God has to say and has always said. 🙂 Anyways, thank you for sharing your experience! It surely touched me! I’ll be sure to make the most of my daily bread as long as I’ve got it and I pray that you will, too! 🙂

    • Libby,
      Thanks for the comment! I’m not sure anyone really reads this blog but I’m happy to know that it found you. We are truly not alone. Isn’t the internet a wonderful place?
      Caitlin

  2. Pingback: get up and walk « singlyblessed·

Thoughts?

